2022 Rise Awards Celebrate Exceptional Women in the Media Technology Industry

We are proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Rise Awards, which were presented on 30 November 2022, in partnership with BT Sport and Timeline TV.

More than 250 guests attended the sold-out event, hosted at the BT Sport Studios, to celebrate the achievements of this year’s winners and nominees. The ceremony was also streamed globally on Rise’s YouTube channel.

Over 300 nominations were received from around the globe, citing the talents and achievements of inspirational women working in a variety of media technology roles. This year, Rise introduced four new awards; Ally, Business Operations, Project Management or Delivery and Special Achievement.

The winners are:

Ally, sponsored by Vizrt

  • Fernando Küfer, disguise | WINNER
  • Ian Wagdin, BBC R&D
  • Kike Garcia Gil, Source Elements
  • Kris Langbridge, Amazon Web Services
  • Shola Aminu, DAZN

Business, sponsored by Live U

  • Nyema Zam, Samuh Mediatech – WINNER
  • Bleuenn Le Goffic, Accedo
  • Camilla James, Techex
  • Daniella Weigner, Cinegy
  • Heather Dower, Hotdrop
  • Jade Kurian, latakoo
  • Mitzi Dominguez, Clear-Com

Business Operations, sponsored by Christy Media Solutions

  • Jane Sung, Cinedeck | WINNER
  • Amanda Wall, Take 1
  • Lainey Scott-Campbell, Red Bee Media
  • Madeline LaRue, Deluxe
  • Shivani Kochhar, Warner Bros. Discovery
  • Swapna Nadkarni, Deluxe Entertainment Distribution India Pvt

Company Award for Investment in Women, sponsored by Telstra

  • Deluxe | WINNER
  • Adobe
  • disguise
  • Qwilt

Influencer, sponsored by Bitmovin

  • Sarah Essoof, Engage Digital Partners | WINNER
  • Carolyn Giardina, The Hollywood Reporter
  • Megan Wagoner, Vimond

Marketer/PR, sponsored by disguise

  • Lauren Carter-Jones, Broadcast Tech & Sport Group | WINNER
  • Lauren Myers, Ross Video
  • Sophie Light-Wilkinson, Bitmovin
  • Zoe Mumba, Bitmovin
  • Yaya Selva, Net Insight

Product Innovation, sponsored by Clear-Com

  • Floriane Magera, EVS | WINNER
  • Alice Risholt, Codemill
  • Carolin Schramm, ARRI Solutions
  • Karen Robinson, Clear-Com
  • Lucy Seaborne, Grass Valley

Project Management or Delivery, sponsored by Grass Valley

  • Chrissie Collins, EMG | WINNER
  • Katie Brand, BT Media and Broadcast
  • Mallory Larsen, Deluxe
  • Natasha London, Red Bee Media
  • Niki Whittle, disguise

Production Support Engineer, sponsored by Blackmagic Design

  • Markela Deverikou, NEP UK | WINNER
  • Hannah Pickford, Gravity Media
  • Kirsty Elliot, Timeline Television
  • Kathleen Gray, NEP UK

R&D Engineer, sponsored by Ateliere Creative Technologies

  • Jigyasa Grover, Twitter | WINNER
  • Emma Young, BBC
  • Eva Sandén-Westberg Net Insight
  • Zineb Agyo, Ateme

Rising Star, sponsored by Avid

  • Maddie Holmes, EMG | WINNER
  • Beth Harper, Object Matrix
  • Emily Phillips, DAZN
  • Sarah Ambrose, Timeline Television
  • Susan Lim, Techtel Pty

Sales, sponsored by Harmonic

  • Sandra Hernandez, Ross Video | WINNER
  • Jiyon Hahn, Harmonic
  • Nicola Milburn, PHABRIX
  • Rebecca Knight, disguise
  • Roberta Cambio, Brightcove

Student of the Year Award sponsored by SMPTE

  • Kai Randles, Global Academy – WINNER
  • Deepa Bhat, Humber College
  • Gemma Nash, Global Academy
  • Lia Saunders, Ravensbourne University London

Technical Operations sponsored by Ross Video

  • Pippa Windus, Telstra Broadcast Services | WINNER
  • Chere Johnson, Encompass
  • Gemma Whalley, BBC News
  • Hannah Marsh, Picture Shop North
  • Sarita Marchena, Red Bee Media

The Woman of the Year Award, sponsored by Zixi, was announced prior to the event; the
winner, Daniella Weigner, co-founder and Managing Director, Cinegy GmbH
, received her
award at the ceremony. The award recognises Daniella’s significant contribution within her field
and her incredible work to support staff and their loved ones severely impacted by the war in

A Special Recognition Award was presented to Mitzi Dominguez, CEO, Clear-Com and
President, HME
at the ceremony for her incredible, continued determination and commitment to
creating a more diverse and supportive environment for women in our industry.

“The Rise Awards shine an important light on the invaluable contributions made by women in the industry, and serve to inspire younger women as we move towards a more gender balanced workforce.”

Andy Beale, Co-founder of Rise Up Academy and Head of Engineering and Innovation at BT Sport

“We are proud to co-host this year’s Rise Awards, honouring remarkable women for their work in the broadcast media technology sector and celebrating their outstanding achievements.”

Daniel McDonnell, CEO of Timeline TV

“A big warm congratulations to all of our winners and those shortlisted for this year’s awards ceremony. The calibre of talented women in our industry from across the globe is truly extraordinary and it was wonderful to celebrate the achievements of so many inspirational women at this amazing ceremony.”

Sadie Groom, Founder and Co-Director of Rise

Find out more

  • For more information about Rise and the Awards, please visit our Awards page
  • The evening’s programme is available to download here 
  • If you missed the Awards, want to re-live the experience, or share it with family and friends, you can watch the recording here
  • Check out the photos from the evening here