Nominees shortlisted for the Rise Awards 2019

Congratulations to all the nominees shortlisted for the inaugural Rise Awards, in association with Avid. Winners will be announced at IBC2019 in September. The shortlist includes:

Technical Operations Award

The Technical Operations Award, sponsored by Sundog Media Toolkit, celebrates a technical operations team member who has gone above and beyond the requirements of their day-to-day role to make a difference, whether it’s delivering outstanding client service on a particular project or service line, resolving a difficult problem or supporting a colleague or client to help achieve this.


Emma Johnson

Emma Johnson
Head of MCR
West Digitial Post Production

Julie Ritson

Julie Ritson
Picture Correspondent
BBC News

Lorraine Panman

Lorraine Panman
Portfolio Project Manager
Massive, a Deltatre company


Chair: Lesley Marr, Rise Advisory Board 
Lesley Johnson, BBC Director of Home Entertainment BBC Studios; Neil Hatton, Chief Executive, UK Screen Alliance; Rich Moss, Managing Director, Gorilla Post; Zoe Carter, Director of Content Operations, Broadcast Operations ITV

Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award, sponsored by Avid Customer Association, recognises women who are industry newcomers, with four years or less industry experience, but who are considered as stand-out performers, innovators and emerging leaders in the broadcast & media industry. Nominees have demonstrated exceptional and ongoing achievements and have made significant and demonstrable contributions to their business.


Lauren Ward
R&D Engineer

Rhianna Steele

Rhianna Steele
Media Manager
IMG Media

Shannon Albrink

Shannon Albrink
Junior Editor
Therapy Studios


Chair: Charlotte Wheeler, Rise Advisory Board Member 
Cristina Aragon, Managing Director, 5A Studios; Judy Parnall, Head of Standards & Industry, BBC R&D; Jake Bickerton, Technology Editor, Broadcast; Nigel Wilkes, General Manager, Panasonic Europe; Serena Harris, Sales Director, North America, Marquis Broadcast

Sales Award

The Sales Award, sponsored by Disguise, celebrates excellence in sales; from great sales performance, showing initiative and creativity, as well as maintaining great customer relationships. Shortlisted nominees all excel in a sales role in the broadcast industry working, either for a manufacturer, service provider, broadcaster, media publisher or trade show.


Charlotte Latham

Charlotte Latham
Sales and Operations Manager

Laura Kirkland

Laura Kirkland
Sales Director, EMEA Strategic Accounts
Grass Valley

Nicki Fisher

Nicki Fisher
Sales Director, EMEA


Chair: Samantha Arlow, Rise Advisory Board Member 
Dave Cheesman, Regional Sales Director EMEA, The Vitec Group Plc; Mike Thomas, Sales Director, Top-Teks Ltd; Nela Pertl, European Sales Manager, Panasonic Europe; Nick Millen, Business Development Manager, Proactive UK Ltd

Engineer Award

The Engineer Award, sponsored by Clear-Com, recognises a dynamic and innovative engineer, who represents the very best of our broadcasting profession. She is a high achiever, a problem solver and a team player. She should be an inspiration to her colleagues, the wider profession and also inspire others to follow in her footsteps


Carys Hughes

Carys Hughes
Design Engineer
Sky UK

Gemma Ebbs

Gemma Ebbs
Systems Development Lead
BT Media and Broadcast


Stefania Popescu
Systems Engineer
Sky UK


Chair: Nicki Fisher, Rise Advisory Board Member
Eben Jenkins, Partner, Certeon Group; John Ive, Director, Producer, Technologist – IABM/IveTechMedia; Kat Lancaster, Graphics & Data Solutions Support Manager, Sky UK; Stephane Menard, VP Engineering, Clear-Com

Marketer/PR Award

This award commends an outstanding woman who is working in a marketing or PR role in the industry; either in-house or for an agency or as a freelancer. All our shortlisted nominees have demonstrated a desire to learn and innovate, as well as being a strategic-thinkers who consistently show astuteness, professionalism and creativity.


Allison Duval

Allison Duval
Group Marketing Manager
Procam Group


Felicity Webster
Marketing Manager
BT Media and Broadcast

Lucy Speed

Lucy Speed
Marketing & Communications Manager, Middle East & Africa


Chair: Anne-Louise Buick, Rise Advisory Board Member 
Darren Deans, Head of Marketing, Dock10 (UK); Mackinlay, SVP Marketing, Product Management & Sales Operations, Amino (UK); Laurie Durcan, Director, Avid Customer Association (ACA) (USA); Simon Frost, Head of EMEA Media Marketing, AWS (UK) 

Business Award

The Business Award, sponsored by Adobe, recognises the achievements of a woman running a business within the broadcast industry (either manufacturer or service provider), for example, a CEO, Managing Director, COO, or business owner. Our shortlisted nominees all demonstrate excellent business acumen, outstanding leadership whilst achieving remarkable business growth.


Marina Kalkakis

Marina Kalkanis
CEO & Co-founder
M2A Media

Monique Ellis

Monique Ellis
Chief Operations Officer
Massive, a Deltatre company

Natascha Cadle
Creative Director and Co-founder


Chair: Sadie Groom, Rise Founder
Graham Sharp, Director, Media Asset Capital; Kathy-Anne McManus, SVP Global Customer Solutions and Services, Avid; Lucinda Meek, Finance Director, IABM; Rebecca Price, Sales Director, Azule Finance

Woman of the Year Award

This special award will be chosen by the Rise Advisory Board. It will celebrate an extraordinary and inspirational woman who has made a significant contribution within her field. The winner will be announced at the awards reception at IBC2019.